Welcome

I have wanted to blog for a while, but never thought I could think up enough material to write about. However no need to think up food related stuff since I am always doing something in the kitchen. So, I decided to put some time into jotting down things I love to do, recipes that work like a charm, tips that make a busy mom’s life easier, and just stuff.

I spent a good deal of time thinking about a name for my blog. I thought of all the things I love about cooking, all the goodies I make often, and in spite of my varied repertoire, my thoughts always turned to, yup, chocolate and Irish cream. I love them. I can consume a good deal of chocolaty desserts without regret, and I also shamelessly pour a dash of Irish cream in my coffee, over my ice cream, over my cakes, in my ganache…you get the point.

So to kick off my first post, here is an easy and delicious chocolate and Irish cream recipe.

chocobaileyscheesecake

Chocolate and Baileys Cheesecake

Recipe for a 7 or 8 inch pan

Ingredients:

Crust

Make a regular Graham cracker crust; prebaked

Filling

200 gr. (7 ounces) dark chocolate

1/3 cup Baileys (or any Irish cream)

250 gr. mascarpone

200 gr. creamcheese

¼ cup sugar

2 tsp. vanilla sugar

2 eggs

Instructions:

Melt the chocolate in a double boiler, or however you usually melt chocolate and allow to cool.

On a low speed, beat the mascarpone and creamcheese till blended. Add the sugar and egg. Add the melted chocolate, and the Irish cream. Fill pan and bake at around 100ºC (200 F) for about 1.5 hours to 1 hour 45 min*, or until it looks done, but the center is still slightly wobbly. Turn off heat and leave in oven to cool down for about half an hour. Let cool to room temperature and refrigerate a couple hours or overnight.

Serve topped with chocolate shavings and whipped cream

*cooking time for the 8 inch will take a bit shorter.

Leave a Reply

